The Mound Builders are heavy self proclaimed “River Sludge” band from Lafayette, Indiana. Mixing together Doom, stoner, metal and punk genres their sound reflects the many influences bestowed on each of its members. Lyrically the band is inspired by ancient history, life in the Midwest, and the mysteries of the cosmos.

They released their debut album “Strangers In A Strange Land” in September of 2011 playing many shows regionally in support of the release. In July 2013 The Mound Builders entered the legendary Sonic Iguana Studio to record a new batch of songs with Dan Precision (88 Fingers Louie, Rise Against, Set Fire to Reason). Two songs from this session were released for Record Store Day on April 19th, 2014 on a split cassette with BO Jackson 5. The split was released by Indiana based label Failure Records and Tapes.  The Mound Builders are set to release the follow up 4-song EP titled “Wabash War Machine”  on December 5th 2014.

The Mound Builders are James Henry Voelz on Vocals, Brian Boszor on Guitar, Ninja Neight Malher on Guitar, Robert Ryan Strawsma on Bass and Jason “Dinger” Brookhart on Drums.

The Mound Builders